About Korutla

About Korutla

Koratla (also known as Korutla) is constituted as 3rd Grade Municipality in the old Karimnagar district of  Telangana state and now re-organised in Jagtial Distric in the year 1988 vide G.O.Ms.No. 295 M.A., Dt:19-05-1988 and is upgraded to 2nd Grade  vide G.O. Ms.No. 171 M.A., Dt:16-04-2010 with a population of 66,293 as per 2011 census and spread over 28.00 Sq. Km area. There are 31 wards in the town. The present population of the town is about 85,000.


Koratla is located at 18.82°N 78.72°E, and has an average elevation of 286 metres (938 ft).


As of the 2001 Indian census, Koratla had a population of 54,121, 50% male and 50% female. Koratla had an average literacy rate of 60%, approximately equal to the national average of 59.5%. Male literacy is 69%, and female literacy is 51%. 14% of the population is under 6 years of age. Korutla, Metpally, Mallapur, Ibrahimpatnam are the 4 mandals in Korutla Constituency, this Constituency stands in Nizamabad Parliament Constituency. The Population in this Constituency is 2,71,831. In this 13.95% are SC’s, 2.79% ST’s, 10.44% Muslims, 0.36% Christians are there. Voters in this constituency are 1,98,088.


It is believed that Korutla got its name during Nizam’s era and was previously known as Koravattu. Predominantly weavers community settlement is there who weave pattu hence it is named as Korapattu.  Paper industry is also there in Nizam time hence one of the area it is named as Kagithalapatla. Jain Kings constructed a temple called Mahadevaswamy temple in Gadiburuju area.


The people are religious. Korutla has many temples, including Sai Baba Temple, Ashta lakshmi, Durga Temple, Ayyappa Temple, Nageswara Temple, Ramalayam and Venkateswara Temple. Durga Navaratri, Vinayaka Navaratri, Deepavali, Sri Rama Navami, Sankranti are local festivals. Saibaba Temple was established in 1982.


Koratla has many masjids like  Jama masjid, Hira, Arfat, Idgha, Meena, Rahemaniya, Mecca, Abubakr, Sarwar, Omar, Aysha, Bilal, Muzdalifa, Kakzipura, Madeena, Ali Masjid. 


The then Government of Andhra Pradesh established a Veterinary College in 2008, which was opened for the 2008-2009 academic year, taking 19 students into the first year Bachelor of Veterinary Science and Animal Husbandry course. In 1994 Sri Arunodaya Science and Commerce Degree College established in Korutla. In 1995 college management started computer courses, this is the first college introduced computer course through out district.